Quick 5 with Demetria McKinney

82b608d4-3006-4182-b1b7-c850a02c21d9Pretty soon you will seeing and hearing a lot more from Demetria McKinney, and with good reason! This triple threat is on her way to be house hold name already staring in Tyler Perry’s House of Pain and BET’s hit series Let’s Stay Together now she is ready to take over the air waves with her hot new single “100”! The Plug’s corresponded Phillip Brazile got a chance to sit down with Demetria for one of his awesome Quick 5’s!

Most people know you from your role, “Janine” on “House of Payne”, what do you want to do more act or sing?

I never anticipated being an actress, but from the first time I heard Whitney Houston sing, I knew that was what I wanted to do. It was love at first note. So if I HAD to choose, it’d be music but luckily, I don’t have to choose! Lol!

Currently, you can be seen all over the place on TV, from “The Rickey Smiley Show, and “Let’s Stay Together”, how do you choose an acting part?

I try to pick roles that teach me something. Janice taught me to look ahead to the consequences of my choices, Monica teaches me to pay attention to the balance of work and family, etc. I love walking in different shoes so long as I am learning and having fun.

Would you like to get into movies? Any dreams roles you would like?

I’ve done a few movies and would love the opportunity to do more. I have a movie coming out this fall on BET called, “Let The Church Say Amen”

Who are some of your musically influences? Who do you listen to?

My dream role would be playing Whitney. She influenced and got me through so much and to have the chance to tell her story would be an honor.

What can fans expect on your debut album? What kind of sound?

The EP “Officially Yours” will be released by the end of the year and the current single “100” ft. Da Brat is available on iTunes right now! The video is available for view on YouTube!

FAN CONNECTION:

Twitter: @demimckinney

Instagram: @demetria4real

Website: www.demetriamckinney.com

 

Quick 5 Interviews are written by Freelance Journalist Phillip Brazile (Philosophy8705@gmail.com).  Quick 5 interviews are syndicated to a number of online publications. Follow Phillip online on Twitter @IamRealPhil Instagram IamPhilBrazile
Leave a Reply

