Wendy Williams Gets Personal With Uptown Magazine

Uptown Magazine

Uptown Magazine

Wendy Williams covers the new issue of Uptown Magazine and she is killing the cover! During her photo shoot she gives us a more glamours side of this legendary media maven. With help of her glam squad Memsor Kamarake, Merrell Hollis, and Antwon Jackson, Wendy dazzles during her photo spread. In the interview she talks about life, drug abuse, her family, and her career.

During the intimate interview the talk show host explains that she has no regrets during her radio career. She openly speaks about her drug abuse and how her experiences earlier in her career made her who she is today. “I had to be that person back then to be the person I am today. The person who was on the radio then was authentically me. We all have our sloppy, greasy side. My original Wendy listeners, here in New York, they grew up with me. They come up to me all the time and say, ‘Oh, I have been listening to you since I was 12.’ I feel proud. I am glad that I have been able to evolve.”

Uptown Magazine

Uptown Magazine

Wendy also speaks on how her career choices wasn’t the most ideal direction her parents wanted her to go. They were rather embarrassed. “My parents were very embarrassed by the way I conducted myself on the radio and I know that,” she admits. “They would fake happy, meanwhile their friends would say, ‘That Wendy is something else.’ But I was getting popularity from being that ‘something else.’ But I don’t think that was what my parents had in mind when they thought of my career. My older sister is an attorney and my younger brother is a schoolteacher. No, I wasn’t out there doing full splits in Playboy magazine, but it is still not what my parents would have wanted me to gravitate to.”

Uptown Magazine

Uptown Magazine

“I love that he has his father. It’s a great thing, a black boy and his black father,” she said talking about her son who she affectionately calls little Kev. She then goes into what it’s like to raise a black son in this world. “Yes, it is. But we teach him he is public enemy number one and his job is to dispel that.” She starts to cry. While reaching for a tissue, she whispers, “Sometimes, I will stand at our front door and watch Little Kev and his father drive off until I see the last puff of smoke from the car’s exhaust. Then, I say to myself, ‘It’s good.’”

Uptown Magazine

Uptown Magazine

Wendy Williams had a rep of being very cut throat during her radio days. She asked if she would have anyone one of her past enemies on her show now. “If I had a problem with you in the past, chances are I have moved on. I have a good life. My parents have seen me go from a loser to a winner. Most people don’t have the luxury of their parents seeing them come full circle. I feel sexy and I feel very accomplished. I have my family. I am grateful. And if Puffy did come on my show, he would have to remove those damn sunglasses.”

There is tons more to this interview! To check out the rest of the interview head over to Uptown Magazine.

Source: Uptown Magazine

Leave a Reply

